

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 3, 2019

FOR MORE INFORMATION Royce Schaneman (402) 471-2358 wheat.board@nebraska.gov

Nebraska Wheat Participates in Selecting Grant Winners

Congratulations to six Nebraska school districts for winning grants from the America's Farmers Grow Rural Education STEM program. Nebraska Wheat Board (NWB) Executive Director, Royce Schaneman, a member of the approximately thirty-member national Farmer Advisory Council, helped select this year's grant winners.

The Nebraska school districts receiving the grants are: Axtell Community Schools, Banner County Public Schools, Bruning-Davenport Unified, Centura Public Schools, Falls City Public Schools and Stanton Community Schools.

The national program encourages public school districts to submit proposals that enhance STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education and curriculum and is sponsored by Bayer Fund. The Grow Rural Education program allows eligible farmers to nominate their local public school district for grants to help enhance STEM education. Once nominated, school districts submit applications to compete for \$10,000 or \$25,000 grants to help fund projects that enhance their STEM curriculum. These grants are helping to improve test scores, but better yet, they're getting kids to think bigger about their tomorrow.

The schools' projects can be viewed and more information regarding the program can be found at https://www.americasfarmers.com/grow-rural-education/2019-winners/.

Farmer nominations for 2020 begin January 1, 2020 – please encourage local farmers to nominate your school district for a chance to compete for a grant next year!

The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the check-off of 0.4% of net value of wheat marketed in Nebraska at the point of first sale. The board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research, promotion, and education.